New Delhi [India], February 13 (ANI): The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Monday announced the nominations of two candidates for election to the Rajya Sabha.

According to a press release signed by the BJP president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, fellow party members Debasish Samantaray and Subhasish Khuntia have been nominated as the party's candidates for the elections to the Upper House of Parliament.

Also Read | Haryana Shocker: 35-Year-Old Woman Gang-Raped on Pretext of Job Promise in Gurugram, Four Arrested.

Three Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha will fall vacant in April when the terms of Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, Prasant Nanda and Amar Patnaik in the Upper House end.

The Election Commission has scheduled the Rajya Sabha elections for 15 states, including Odisha, on February 27.

Also Read | Rahul Gandhi Writes to PM Narendra Modi: 'Release MGNREGS Funds for West Bengal, Many Not Paid for Work Completed in 2021'.

Voting will take place from 9 am to 4 pm on this date, with the deadline for nominations set for February 15.

Results of the elections will be announced on the same day, February 27. (ANI)

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)