Chennai, Feb 25 (PTI) The resignation letter submitted by MLA S Vijayadharani, who was elected from Vilavancode constituency in 2021 assembly polls, has been accepted, Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker M Appavu said on Sunday.

A day after Vijayadharani joined the BJP post her resignation from the Congress, Appavu told reporters that he considered the request of Tamil Nadu Congress Committee President K Selvaperunthagai seeking her disqualification and also the Vilavancode legislator's resignation letter.

Also Read | 'Not Even in My Dreams Did I Ever See Myself Speaking to PM Modi': 'Drone Didi' Sunita on Speaking to Prime Minister Narendra Modi During 'Mann Ki Baat' (Watch Videos).

Vijayadharani's resignation letter was in a proper form and manner and conformed to rules and hence it was accepted, Appavu said.

Vijayadharani represented Vilavancode, which is part of the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat, a constituency the BJP has won in the past.

Also Read | Ancient Temples of Badami Chalukya Period Found in Telangana Village (See Pics).

Selvaperunthagai is the MLA from the Sriperumbudur constituency and the former Congress legislature party leader.

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)