UP Government Issues Notice to Six Former CMs to Vacate Government-Owned Bungalows Within 15-Days Time
UP govt. Yogi Adityanath serves notices to six former CMs to vacate govt-owned-bungalows. (Photo credits:PTI)

Uttar Pradesh, May 18: No more occupying the government bungalows! The Uttar Pradesh(UP) government of Chief Minister (CM) Yogi Adityanath has given 15 days' time to almost six former CMs of the state, to vacate the government-owned bungalows. The notice has been issued in the wake of Supreme Court’s order, which termed the allotment of bungalows to former CMs as unconstitutional. The former CMs who have been served the notices include the Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, BSP chief Mayawati, ND Tiwari, BJP leaders Rajnath Singh and Kalyan Singh.

The SC in its verdict earlier quashed the amendment made in section 4(3) of UP Ministers (salaries, allowances & miscellaneous provisions) Act, 2016 stating it as unconstitutional. The Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party government had in 2016 amended the act, which was challenged by a Lucknow-based non-profit organisation Lokprahari in the SC. A bench of justices Ranjan Gogoi and R Banumathi delivered the judgment in the case.

According to a news report in Hindustan Times, the notices have been served only after a meeting was held by Yogi Adityanath with the former CM Mulayam Singh Yadav on Wednesday. In the meeting the discussion over the government bungalow row was carried out, however, the official spokesperson said that the meeting was held for some other reasons.  Sources added that the allotment of the bungalows to the two opposition leaders Ram Govind Chaudhary of Legislative Assembly(Lower House) and leader of opposition in Legislative Council (Upper House) Ahmad Hasan was also discussed. A senior officer said the state government has not taken any decision on the allotment as yet.