Narendra Modi's Swearing-In: Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena to Attend Oath Taking Ceremony on May 30
Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena (Photo Credits: IANS/File)

New Delhi, May 25: Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena will attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony which is scheduled to be held in New Delhi on May 30. Sirisena spoke to PM Modi over a phone Yesterday. After the results were declared on May 23, the Sri Lankan president congratulated PM Modi for the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) landslide victory in the Lok Sabha elections 2019. Narendra Modi-led NDA Victory Paves Way For Rajya Sabha Majority in 2020; Triple Talaq, NRC to Get Green Signal.

Sirisena tweeted, “It was a pleasure to congratulate Prime Minister Modi (@narendramodi) over the phone a while ago. I shared thoughts that Sri Lanka too celebrates along with the world’s largest democracy, on his re-election. We look forward to work together to further develop our bilateral ties.” In 2014, the then Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa attended the swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi. Narendra Modi to Take Oath as PM for Second Term On May 30.

In the 2019 parliamentary polls, the saffron party emerged as the single largest party bagging 303 seats, while the BJP led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured 352 seats. In these elections, the Congress failed to touch the three-figure mark for the second consecutive time. The grand old party won only 52 seats which are merely eight seats more than 2014. The Others including Samajwadi Party. Bahujan Samaj Party and Trinamool Congress bagged 97 seats.