Mumbai, June 8: As India gears up for PM Narendra Modi's historic third term, anticipation swirls around the composition of his new cabinet. With the swearing-in ceremony set for Sunday, June 9, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, all eyes are on the allocation of ministries among coalition partners within the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). The BJP's landslide victory, securing 240 seats in the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, solidifies Modi's leadership. Alongside, allies such as Chandrababu Naidu's TDP, clinching 16 seats in Andhra Pradesh, and Nitish Kumar's JDU, with 12 seats in Bihar, have crucial roles in shaping the government's agenda.

Amid the anticipation surrounding the formation of the new cabinet, attention is focused on the distribution of ministries among NDA coalition partners. While BJP's "4:1" formula ensures its grip on major portfolios, allies like TDP and JDU are expected to be rewarded with Minister of State (MoS) positions in key ministries, as reported by PTC News and OneIndia. As PM Modi prepares to unveil his new team, all eyes are on the likely list of cabinet ministers poised to play pivotal roles in shaping the trajectory of India's development under the visionary leadership of "Modi 3.0." NDA Government Formation: BJP's 2024 Numbers Alone Trumps Congress' Total of 2014, 2019 and 2024 Lok Sabha Seats, Says Narendra Modi (Watch Video).

Likely List of New Cabinet Ministers


  1. Amit Shah is expected to continue as the Home Minister. Known for his close association with Prime Minister Modi, may also shoulder additional responsibilities within the government, as per reports.
  2. Nirmala Sitharaman is likely to continue as the Finance Minister. Despite not contesting a Lok Sabha election, she has effectively managed the defence and finance portfolios. 
  3. Rajnath Singh is expected to maintain his position as Defence Minister un Modi 3.0.
  4. Piyush Goyal is expected to oversee the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. As the Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha and a veteran minister, Goyal brings a wealth of expertise to this pivotal portfolio.
  5. Nitin Gadkari is likely to continue as the Minister of Road Transport and Highways, a portfolio he has managed effectively under PM Modi's leadership.
  6. Ashwini Vaishnav is likely to be assigned a substantial ministry in the new term, as per reports. NDA Government Formation: Narendra Modi Elected as Leader of NDA Parliamentary Party, Felicitated by Allies (Watch Video).


The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has put forth its demands for ministerial portfolios in the new government. Reports suggest that they have requested the Lok Sabha speaker's post along with two additional ministries. Under the BJP's formula, the TDP will likely receive two cabinet ministers and one Minister of State (MoS) post.


The Janata Dal (United) has expressed interest in ministries such as Railways, Agriculture, and Finance. As per reports, they are expected to secure three cabinet ministers and one or two MoS posts under the BJP's allocation formula.

Shiv Sena:

With seven MPs, the Shiv Sena-Shinde faction is likely to secure two cabinet minister posts in the new government.


The Lok Janshakti Party (LJP)-Ram Vilas faction, boasting five MPs, may receive one cabinet minister post and one MoS post in the forthcoming government.

With the contours of the new cabinet taking shape, all eyes are on the allocation of ministries and the roles assigned to each coalition partner. As the government formation process progresses, further clarity is expected regarding the distribution of portfolios and the composition of the NDA government.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jun 08, 2024 01:14 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website