Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency in Punjab: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Anandpur sahib Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

Anandpur Sahib is a key Lok Sabha Constituency of Punjab. The voting for the parliamentary polls 2019 on this seat will take place in the seventh phase on May 19. The constituency is not reserved for any category, and the seat number of this constituency is 6. This constituency came into existence as a part of the implementation of delimitation of parliamentary and assembly constituencies in 2008. The constituency comprises of nine assembly seats including Banga, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar, Mohali, Roopnagar, Balachaur, Chamkaur Sahib and Kharar. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

In 2019 elections, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded Narendra Singh Shergil from this constituency. The Congress has fielded Manish Tewari, while the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has given the ticket to Prem Singh Chandumajra. The last date of filing nomination for the seat was April 22. The scrutiny of nominations papers took place on April 30. Meanwhile, the last date of withdrawal of candidature was May 2. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VII: List of States And Constituencies Voting on May 19.

Here are important details about Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency:

Issue of Notification April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase VII

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, SAD's Prem Singh Chandumajra had defeated  Soni with a margin over 22,000 votes. Meanwhile, in 2009 elections, Congress' Ravneet Singh Bittu had won from this constituency defeating Chandumajra.

List of States And Constituencies That Will Vote On April 11 In Phase VII:

State (No. of seats voting in this phase) Constituencies
Bihar (8) Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arrah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad
Jharkhand (3) Rajmahal, Dumka, Godda
Madhya Pradesh (8) Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, Khandwa
Punjab (13) Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Anandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, Patiala
West Bengal (9) Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar
Chandigarh (1) Chandigarh
Uttar Pradesh (13) Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj
Himachal Pradesh (4) Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla

On March 10, the Election Commission of India announced dates for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The elections will take place in seven phases, and the results will be declared on May 23. The polls will be held in 1,035,918 polling stations across the country compared to 928,000 set up during the last Lok Sabha election in 2014.