Attingal Lok Sabha Constituency in Kerala: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Attingal Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Attingal is a municipality in Thiruvananthapuram metropolitan area in Thiruvananthapuram district of Indian state of Kerala. Attingal is one among the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala. It is one among the oldest municipalities of Kerala which constituted prior to the independence in 1922. Attingal's constituency number is 19. Attingal has seven Assembly constituencies including Pargi, Vicarabad (SC), Tandur, Rajendranagar, Maheswaram, Serilingampally and Chevella (SC).

A five-time MLA and sitting MP from Konni, Adoor Prakash is Congress' face in Attingal. He has won from Konni in 1996, 2001, 2006 and 2011. Shobha Surendran, who secured 1.36 lakh votes from Palakkad seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections is contesting from BJP ticket in Attingal this time. CPI(M)'s Anirudhan Sampath who is Attingal's sitting MP has been given the ticket for the 2019 election too. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Attingal Constituency:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

Dr A Sampath was elected for the third time as Attingal MP in 2014 as he defeated Congress' Bindhu Krishna by a margin of 69,378 votes. He won from Attingal in 2000 and 2014. He had also won from Chirayinkeezh seat in 1996.  Attingal constituency came into existence in 2008 after dissolution of Chirayinkeezhu constituency. In 2014, Congress lost the seat to TRS' Konda Visweswara Reddy who resigned in 2018 and joined the Congress.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video):

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 will be held in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. In Kerala, polling will be conducted during the third phase of elections, on April 23. The polling is scheduled to happen in 115 Lok Sabha constituencies of 14 states during the third phase. The counting of votes will be held and results will be declared on May 23.