Barasat Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Barasat Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Mumbai, March 27: Barasat is the parliamentary constituency in West Bengal which will go to polls in the Seventh Phase of general elections on May 19. The counting of votes for Barasat Lok Sabha election result will take place on May 23. The primary electoral contest for the seat is between the All India Trinamool Congress, Left Front, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. Though several other regional parties would also contest for the seat.

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Dr Kakoli Ghoshdastidar. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Left Front’s All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) candidate – Mortaza Hossain. AITC has fielded Dr Kakoli Ghoshdastidar again this time from the constituency. To defeat the incumbent MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, AIFB has fielded Haripada Biswas, while Congress has announced Subroto (Rashu) Dutta as their candidate. BJP has fielded Dr Mrinal Kanthi Debnath as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,26,654 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,86,579 are females while 6,40,075 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 90.42 per cent. This constituency is famous for commercial trade of rice, potatoes, coconuts and cotton. The female to male ratio is 972.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Seventh Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification  April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date Of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Barasat Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 22, which would continue till April 29. Scrutiny will be done on April 30, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations will be May 2. The polling will take place on May 19.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.