Bishnupur Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Bishnupur Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Mumbai, March 27: Bishnupur (SC) is the parliamentary constituency in West Bengal which will go to polls in the Sixth Phase of general elections on May 12. The counting of votes for Bishnupur (SC) Lok Sabha election result will take place on May 23. The primary electoral contest for the seat is between the All India Trinamool Congress, Left Front, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. Though several other regional parties would also contest for the seat.

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Saumitra Khan. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Left Front’s CPI(M) candidate – Susmita Bauri. AITC has fielded Shymal Santra this time from the constituency. In the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Sunil Khan, while Congress has announced Narayan Chandra Khan as their candidate. BJP has fielded AITC rebel Saumitra Khan as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,37,948 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,90,879 are females while 6,40,069 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 69 per cent, and the principal occupations are tourism, agriculture and handicrafts. This constituency is famous for its exclusive terracotta products. The female to male ratio is 914.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Sixth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April  23
Scrutiny of nomination April  24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May  12
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Bishnupur (SC) Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 16, which would continue till April 23. Scrutiny will be done on April 24, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations will be April 26. The polling will take place on May 12.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 6 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.