Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 2 Voting Ends in Rajanandgaon, Mahasamund and Kanker Parliamentary Constituencies, 70.24% Turnout Recorded
Three Lok Sabha constituencies - Kanker, Mahasamund and Rajanangaon are going for polls in the second phase (Photo Credits: File image)

Raipur, April 18: Voting for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Chhattisgarh ended. A total of 70.24 percent voter turnout was recorded The polling was held in three parliamentary constituencies – Rajanandgaon, Mahasamund and Kanker. There are a total of 4,076,939 voters in the three constituencies. Out of which 2,040,387 are females while 2,036,552 are males. Former Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh and his family cast their vote for the Rajnandgaon parliamentary constituency. Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency-Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The voting in Naxal-affected areas of Chhattisgarh has ended. In some Naxal-affected areas, voting was conducted place till 3 pm. A polling official deputed at polling booth number 186 in Kanker reported to have died of a heart attack during election duty. Meanwhile, one ITBP jawan was injured in an IED blast carried out by Naxals in Rajanandgaon.

The main contest was between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. There were 36 candidates in fray for the three Lok Sabha seats. The BJP fielded Mohan Mandavi from Kanker, Chunni Lal Sahu from Mahasamund and Santosh Pandey from Rajanandgaon. The Congress gave tickets to Birjesh Thakur from Kanker, Dhanendra Sahu from Mahasamund and Bhola Ram Sahu from Rajanandgaon. Security was tightened up ahead of the second phase of polling. Around 70,000 security personnel were deployed for the second phase of elections in Chhattisgarh. Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Voting Ends, Bastar Records 66% Polling.

The general elections in Chhattisgarh will take place in three phases. In the first phase on Naxal-hit constituency, Bastar went for polls. The final voter turnout in Bastar was 66 per cent, Election Commission officials confirmed. A total of seven candidates were in the fray. The main contest was between BJP's district unit chief Baiduram Kashayam against Congress' firebrand leader and Chitrakoot MLA Dipak Baij.

Voting in the remaining seven Lok Sabha constituencies of the state will be held in the third phase on April 23. The counting of votes will take place on May 23 and the same day results will be declared. Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha Constituency in Chhattisgarh: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, the BJP had won 10 in 2014 while the Congress had won one. It will be interesting to see the result in Chhattisgarh as the General Elections come just months after the Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections. The Congress had decimated the BJP government in the state in the Assembly polls.