Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy Wins Floor Test in Karnataka's Vidhana Soudha
HD Kumaraswamy wins floor test in Vidhana Soudha (Photo Credit: ANI)

Bengaluru, May 25: Newly elected Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has won the floor test in the Vidhana Soudha. In the 224-seat assembly, polls were conducted on 222 seats. Congress-JD (S) alliance has 117 seats in the assembly, whereas Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats. One independent MLA extended his support to the BJP.

BJP has walked out of the Vidhana Soudha in Karnataka. Earlier in the day, BJP withdrew S Suresh Kumar's candidature for the speaker's post. Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) nominee K.R. Ramesh Kumar was elected as the Karnataka Assembly on Friday.

Mr Kumaraswamy moved the one-line motion soon after the unanimous election of Ramesh Kumar as the speaker of the assembly. BS Yeddyurappa has been elected as the Leader of Opposition in the assembly. Govind Karjol would be the deputy opposition leader. Yeddyurappa during his speech in the assembly admitted that he spoke to some of the Congress-JD(S) alliance MLA’s as he didn’t want ‘unholy’ alliance to come to power.

During his speech in the assembly, Kumaraswamy expressed disappoint as his party failed to gain a majority. He further said that he had become chief minister only because of the alliance.