Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Amit Shah Trains His Guns at Arvind Kejriwal, Says 'Delhi CM will Win Competition of Making False Promises'
Amit Shah (Photo Credits: ANI)

New Delhi, January 23: Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday launched a scathing attack on incumbent Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal during his rally in the national capital ahead of Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. Speaking at the election rally, Shah said that he had come to Delhi to remind Kejriwal of the promises he had forgotten. The Union Home Minister also alleged that Kejriwal could not bring a law for Lokpal, and even failed to implement it when the Prime Minister Narendra Modi brought it. Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Arvind Kejriwal Waits For His Turn At Election Office As Several Independents Turn Up to File Nomination.

Shah stated, “I've come to remind Kejriwal ji that you forgot the promises you made but neither the people of Delhi nor workers of BJP have forgotten...You became CM with help of Anna Hazare but couldn't bring a law for Lokpal and when Modi ji brought it you didn't implement it here.”

Taking a dig at Kejriwal, Shah said that the Delhi CM would come first if to make false promises is held in the country. The Union Home Minister further added, “For 4.5 years Kejriwal ji kept saying that Modi ji didn't let him work so development work could not be done in Delhi. Now he says that he developed Delhi in 5 years so 'lage raho Kejriwal'.” Later in the day, Shah held a roadshow in Uttam Nagar. Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: BJP Spokesperson Naveen Kumar Attacks Arvind Kejriwal, Says 'Delhi Needs Vikas, Not Vinaash'; Watch Video of Full Interview.

The elections for 70-member Delhi Assembly is scheduled to take place on February 8. The votes will be counted on February 11. Delhi will witness a triangular contest between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. In the 2014 assembly elections, the AAP recorded resounded victory. The kejriwal-led party won 67 of the 70 seats, while the BJP bagged the remaining three seats.