Patna, November 7: The voting for Phase-3 of Bihar Assembly Elections concluded at 6:00 pm on Saturday. Soon after the voting concluded, Republic TV in tie-up with Jan ki Baat released exit polls. According to Republic TV, Mahagathbandhan comprising the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Congress and Left Parties will have a slight edge over the National Democratic Alliance (NDA)-led by the Bharatiya Janata Party. Mahagathbandhan is likely to get 118-138 seats, while the NDA is predicted to win 91-117 seats. Exit Poll Results of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: ABP News-CVoter Predicts Majority For RJD-Led Mahagathbandhan With 108-131 Seats.

As per the exit poll released by Republic TV, the RJD will emerge at the single largest party with 91-79 seats. The BJP is likely to be the second-largest party is projected to get 60-75 seats. Meanwhile, the Janata Dal-United (JDU), which is part of the NDA, will manage to get only 31-42 seats. According to the exit poll, the Congress will get 30-24 seats. Left Parties will get upto 16 seats. The Lok Jan Shakti (LJP) is predicted to get eight-five seats.  If we talk about the vote share, the NDA will  get 37-39 percent, while the RJD will get 40-43 percent.

The Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 were held in three phases on – October 28, November 3 and 7. The counting of votes will be done on November 10. Along with elections in Bihar, bypolls were also conducted in 56 assembly constituencies and one Lok Sabha constituency across 11 states.

The main contest in the election was between Mahagathbandhan and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Congress and Left parties are part of Mahagathbandhan, while Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United (JDU) is in the NDA. According to an opinion poll conducted by the ABP-CVoter, NDA will get the majority in Bihar. The ABP-CVoter projected a 135-159 seat-win for the NDA., while Mahagathbandhan is likely to bag 77-98 seats.

The Bihar Assembly elections 2020 is the first major polling exercise since the outbreak of COVID-19 in India. The BJP contested 243-seat assembly elections in alliance with JDU as part of 50:50 seat division formula. The saffron party contested on 121 seats, while the JDU fielded its candidates on 122 seats.

On the other hand, the Congress contested on 70 out of the 243 seats. As per the seat-sharing pact finalised, the RJD fielded its candidates on 144 constituencies. Remaining 29 seats were given to Left parties - CPI, CPI(M) and CPI-ML. Meanwhile, Lok Janshakti Party, BJP's alliance partner at the Centre contested the elections alone.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 07, 2020 06:53 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website