Haryana BJP to Get Support of Independent MLAs to Form Government in State After Fractured Mandate in Assembly Elections 2019
File image of Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar (Photo Credits: PTI)

Chandigarh, October 25: A day after Haryana Assembly Election Results 2019 threw a fractured mandate, Independent candidates are likely to play an important role in the government formation in the state. Haryana Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Subhash Barala was quoted by ANI saying that Independent candidates have come with BJP and expressed confidence that a government will be formed under the leadership of incumbent Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar. "Independent candidates have come with BJP. The government will be formed under the leadership of ML Khattar Ji. He is coming to Delhi today to hold discussions", Barala said. Assembly Elections 2019 Results: No Cakewalk For BJP, Majority Shrunk in Maharashtra, Realpolitik Needed to Retain Haryana.

Khattar arrived at Haryana Bhawan in Delhi to hold a meeting with BJP Working President JP Nadda and BJP Haryana In-charge Anil Jain today. The Manohar Lal Khattar government could possibly return to power in the state after Independent candidates extend their support to the BJP.  Barala added saying that people have given a mandate to BJP and the party will introspect on why it got 7 seats less this time. "Both the party & I will learn from results of these elections. We'll take steps to strengthen the party in the state", Barala said. Check Full List of Winning Candidates in Haryana Assembly Elections 2019.

Here's the tweet:

Soon after Barala's statement, Congress candidate DS Hooda said  Independent MLAs who are going to be a part of the Khattar government are digging their own political grave. "They are selling the trust of people. People of Haryana will never forgive those who do so. People will thrash them with shoes", Hooda said.

On Friday morning, Khattar met BJP national President Amit Shah and other Independent Legislators. The BJP, which has fallen short of a majority by six seats while the Congress doubled its 2014 performance, is banking upon the support of six of the seven independents to form the next government in the state.

The counting of votes for 90-member assembly in Haryana was held on October 24. The ruling BJP in Haryana led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar on Thursday won 40 seats but failed to cross the halfway mark in the 90-member Assembly. The halfway mark in the state is 46. The Indian National Congress (INC) won 31, the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) won 10 while the others managed to bag 9 in the 90-member assembly in Haryana.