Jadavpur Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal Live Results 2019: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More
Jadavpur Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Jadavpur Lok Sabha Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Jadavpur Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Jadavpur seat in the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 73.51 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Jadavpur Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Prof Sugata Bose. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Left Front’s CPI(M) candidate – Sujan Chakraborty. This time AITC has fielded renowned Tollywood actress Mimi Chakraborty from the constituency. In the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, while Congress has not announced their candidate yet. BJP has fielded Prof Anupam Hazra as their candidate. West Bengal Election Results 2019 Live News Updates

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 13,31,537 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 6,47,438 are females while 6,84,599 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 78 per cent. This constituency very well connected to the state capital and houses the most prestigious varsity of state – Jadavpur University. The main occupation of people is agriculture and pisciculture. The female to male ratio is 956.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Seventh Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification  April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of candidature May 2
Date Of Poll May 19
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Jadavpur Lok Sabha elections begun on April 22, which continued till April 29. The scrutiny was done on April 30, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was May 2. The polling took place on May 19.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.

West Bengal-Jadavpur
O.S.N. Candidate Party EVM Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes
1ANUPAM HAZRABJP176415017641528.54
4MIMI CHAKRABORTYAITC290091029009146.93
8RUPA KHANBNARP78807880.13
11KARTIK KAYALIND4158041580.67
12KARTICK NASKARIND1175011750.19
Total 6181470618147