Jahanabad Lok Sabha Constituency in Bihar: Candidates, Current MP, Voting Date And Election Results 2019
Image used for illustration purpose

Jahanabad is among the eight seats in Bihar which would be contested in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019. The date of voting has been fixed by the Election Commission of India (ECI) as May 19. The parliamentary constituency number of Jahanabad is 36. Geographically, the seat is located in central Bihar, close to Patna on the north and Gaya to the south. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Polls in Bihar.

The ECI released the notification for final phase of the polls - in a total of 59 seats - on April 22. Candidates were allowed to file their nominations till the last date of April 29. The electoral battle in Jahanabad is primarily between the NDA, which has fielded JD(U) leader Chandeshwar Prasad, whereas, the Mahagathbandhan has issued ticket to RJD's Surendra Yadav.

In the 2014 general elections, the Jahanabad seat was won by Arun Kumar of the RLSP. The runner-up from the constituency was RJD leader Surendra Yadav, who lost by a margin of nearly 42,000 votes.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7: Schedule, Date, States And Constituencies

Will the NDA succeed in retaining Jhanjharpur? The answer will be known on May 23, when the ECI will declare the results of Lok Sabha elections 2019.