Jamshedpur West Vidhan Sabha Constituency in Jharkhand: Sitting MLA, Candidates For Assembly Elections 2019, Results And Winners
Image used for illustration purpose

Ranchi, November 30: Jamshedpur West, the second seat fall in the Jamshedpur district, will witness an electoral battle primarily between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and the Opposition alliance of the Congress, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The constituency goes to polls in the second phase of Jharkhand assembly elections 2019, scheduled on December 5. The results are scheduled to be declared on December 23 by the Election Commission of India. Phase-Wise List of Seats Going to Polls in Jharkhand.

In 2014, the Jamshedpur West seat was won by BJP leader Saryu Roy, who was inducted as a Cabinet Minister in the Raghubar Das government. Ahead of this election, Roy left the BJP citing the alleged inaction adopted by Das against corruption and decided to contest against him from Jamshedpur East.

From Jamshedpur West, the BJP has replaced Roy with Devendra Nath Singh. The Opposition alliance has assigned the seat to the Congress, which has fielded Banna Gupta.

Overall, the 81 seats of Jharkhand are being contested in five-phased polls, stretching from November 30 to December 20. The final results will be out on December 23. The opinion polls, released ahead of the polls, had predicted a neck-and-neck fight. The ABP news-C Voter survey said the BJP may emerge as the single largest party with 33 seats, but fall short of the majority mark by 9 constituencies. The Congress-JMM-RJD alliance was predicted to win 30 vidhan sabha segments.