Kanthi Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal Live Results 2019: Leading Candidates From The Seat, 2014 Winning MP And More
Kanthi Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Kanthi Lok Sabha Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Kanthi Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Kanthi seat in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 80.16 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Kanthi Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Sisir Kumar Adhikari. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the CPI(M) candidate – Tapas Sinha. AITC has fielded Sisir Kumar Adhikari again this time from the constituency. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Paritosh Pattanayak, while Congress has announced Dipak Kumar Das as their candidate. BJP has fielded Dr Debasish Samant as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,49,775 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 6,03,730 are females while 6,46,045 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 82 per cent, and the principal occupation is agriculture of rice and cashews. Also, this constituency is known as hub of engineering colleges in state. The female to male ratio is 936.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Sixth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April  23
Scrutiny of nomination April  24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May  12
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Kanthi Lok Sabha elections began on April 16, which continued till April 23. The scrutiny was done on April 24, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 26. The polling took place on May 12.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 6 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.

West Bengal-Kanthi
O.S.N. Candidate Party EVM Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes
1Adhikari SisirAll India Trinamool Congress71123363971187249.98
2Dipak Kumar DasIndian National Congress1678962168511.18
3Dr. Debasish SamantaBharatiya Janata Party598616158860020442.14
4Paritosh PattanayakCommunist Party of India (Marxist)76002183761855.35
5Barman KhokanBahujan Samaj Party3000430040.21
6Kenaram MisraShivsena4143441470.29
8NOTANone of the Above8679886870.61
Total 142175024971424247