Krishnanagar Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Krishnanagar Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Mumbai, March 26: Krishnanagar is the parliamentary constituency in West Bengal which will go to polls in the Fourth Phase of general elections on April 29. The counting of votes for Krishnanagar Lok Sabha election result will take place on May 23. The primary electoral contest for the seat is between the All India Trinamool Congress, Left Front, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. Though several other regional parties would also contest for the seat.

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Tapas Paul. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the CPI(M) candidate – Shantanu Jha. AITC has changed its candidate this time by fielding Mahua Moitra instead of Tapas Paul. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Shantanu Jha, while Congress has announced Antaj Ali Shah and BJP has fielded Kalyan Chowbey as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,23,082 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,79,604 are females while 6,43,478 are males. The average literacy rate is 88 per cent, and the main occupation of people is agriculture. The female to male ratio is 978.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Fourth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 2
Last date for filing nomination April 9
Scrutiny of nomination April 10
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 12
Date Of Poll April 29
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Krishnanagar Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 2, which would continue till April 9. Scrutiny will be done on April 10, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations will be April 12. The polling will take place on April 29.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 4 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.