Lok Sabha Elections 2019: After Arjun Singh, TMC Noapara MLA Sunil Singh to Join BJP; Congress’s Nepal Mahato to Switch Side Too
Congress leader Nepal Mahato and former TMC leader Arjun Singh. (Photo Credit: Twitter)

Kolkata, March 14: Miffed with not being included in the released list for Lok Sabha elections, Trinamool Congress leader Arjun Singh joined Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday. However, he is not the one to change boat just before the polls, as reports suggest that three more party leaders are most likely to join BJP ahead of the elections.

According to reports, Noapara MLA Sunil Singh from TMC is most likely to join BJP on Thursday. Considered as an asset to TMC, Sunil won the Noapara Assembly seat in 2018 West Bengal by-polls with a margin of 63,018 votes by defeating BJP’s Sandip Banerjee. He has been crucial in the recently-held polls and has created a record of highest votes given to an individual till date in the constituency. Singh is supposed to join BJP in the national capital today. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections. 

Earlier, Bhatpara MLA Arjun Singh switched his boat just ahead of polls, citing Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s strong action on the perpetrators on Pulwama terror attack. Though the party sources say that he was not happy with as his name was not present in the recently released list of TMC for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Expressing his opinion on this switch, TMC leader and state minister Firhad Hakim slammed Arjun Singh for his decision to join BJP. He called Singh an opportunist and traitor who is power hungry and ditched the party for political gain. He even stated that even if some leaders leave the party, people of the state will support TMC, as it a secular party. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Not only TMC, even Congress leader from Baghmundi Assembly seat – Nepal Mahato – is most likely to join BJP today. The constituency which falls in Purulia district has been a den for Congress since decades, and Mahato’s exit is a big jolt to Congress, which is looking for a comeback in Lok Sabha elections 2019.

Here are the phase-wise dates for polls in separate constituencies in West Bengal:

Sl No. Constituency name Date Phase
1. Cooch Behar Apr-11 1
2. Alipurduars Apr-11 1
3. Raiganj Apr-11 2
4. Jalpaiguri Apr-18 2
5. Darjeeling Apr-18 2
6. Balurghat Apr-23 3
7. Maldaha Uttar Apr-23 3
8. Maldaha Dakshin Apr-23 3
9. Jangipur Apr-23 3
10. Murshidabad Apr-23 3
11. Baharampur Apr-29 4
12. Krishnanagar Apr-29 4
13. Ranaghat Apr-29 4
14. Bardhaman Purba Apr-29 4
15. Bardhaman - Durgapur Apr-29 4
16. Asansol Apr-29 4
17. Bolpur Apr-29 4
18. Birbhum Apr-29 4
19. Bangaon May-06 5
20. Barrackpore May-06 5
21. Howrah May-06 5
22. Uluberia May-06 5
23. Srerampur May-06 5
24. Hooghly May-06 5
25. Arambagh May-06 5
26. Tamluk May-12 6
27. Kanthi May-12 6
28. Ghatal May-12 6
29. Jhargram May-12 6
30. Medinipur May-12 6
31. Purulia May-12 6
32. Bankura May-12 6
33. Bishnupur May-12 6
34. Dum Dum May-19 7
35. Barasat May-19 7
36. Basirhat May-19 7
37. Jaynagar May-19 7
38. Mathurapur May-19 7
39. Diamond Harbour May-19 7
40. Jadavpur May-19 7
41. Kolkata Dakshin May-19 7
42. Kolkata Uttar May-19 7