Mahalakshmi Layout Bypoll 2019 Result Live: K Gopalaiah of BJP Wins MLA Seat
Mahalakshmi Layout (Photo Credits: File Photo)

New Delhi, December 9:  K Gopalaiah of the Bharatiya Janata Party has triumphed the Mahalakshmi Layout bypoll seat in Karnataka. Gopalaiah won the seat by defeating his closest Congress rival M Shivaraju. The counting of votes for the Mahalakshmi Layout assembly constituency in Karnataka began at 8 am on Monday. The Mahalaxmi Layout Vidhan Sabha constituency is located in the Bangalore Urban district. In the Mahalakshmi Layout constituency, there are a total of 2,79,265 voters in the constituency. This time, the Indian National Congress had fielded M Shivaraju while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) gave its ticket to K Gopalaiah. Janata Dal (Secular) had fielded Dr Girish K Nashi. Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019 Live Streaming: Watch Live Telecast of By-Election Outcome in 15 Constituencies.

Voting for 15 assembly constituencies of Karnataka took place on December 5. An estimated 62.18 per cent average voting was registered in the by-elections on Thursday. The major parties contesting in these polls- BJP, INC and JD(S). At present, K. Gopalaiah of JD(S) is the sitting Member of Legislative Assembly. Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019 Live News Updates.

Apart from Congress and BJP which had fielded candidates in 15 seats, there were more than 100 independents who contested in Karnataka by-polls. JD(S) is fighting on 12 seats. In the 2013 Karnataka Assembly Elections, K Gopalaiah of JD(S) had won the Mahalakshmi Layout seat by securing 66,127 votes. In 2013 the seat witnessed a voter turnout of 60.28 percent in the Mahalakshmi Layout constituency.