Imphal, April 18: The voting for the second phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 ended. The polling took place for one seat of the Inner Manipur constituency. A total of 76.01 percent voter turnout was recorded in the state. The constituency number of this seat is PC no.1. The governor Najma Heptulla and Chief Minister N. Biren Singh cast their votes in Imphal. To ensure the polling goes on smoothly, there was tight security in the concerned areas. Under the second phase, voting was held for 95 seats across 13 states. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Eleven candidates participated for the Inner Manipur constituency which went to the polls on April 18. The key candidates in the Inner Manipur constituency for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 were Oinam Nabakishore Singh of Indian National Congress, Moirangthem Nara Singh of Communist Party of India and Dr Rajkumar Ranjan Singh of Bharatiya Janta Party. Nabakishore is the former state chief secretary. Inner Manipur Lok Sabha Constituency in Manipur: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

The voting took place through Electronic Voting Machines and VVPAT machines at every polling booth. The total electorate count in both the constituencies is 19,59,429 voters. In the previous Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the total registered electors in the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency were 855,359 -- 417,122 of them male and 438,237 female. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase II: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 18.

The Inner Manipur constituency had gone to polls in the first phase on April 11. Over 78% of the polling percentage was recorded in this constituency which has been reserved for the Scheduled Tribe (ST). The parliamentary polls in the country will take place in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Apr 18, 2019 07:27 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website