Mumbai South Central Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra: Candidates, Current MP, Voting Date And Election Results 2019
Mumbai South Central Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, March 23: Mumbai South Central Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra will witness an electoral contest between the Shiv Sena and the Congress. Polling for Lok Sabha election in Mumbai South Central constituency will be held on April 29 in the fourth phase of general elections. The counting of votes will take place on May 23 and the election result of Mumbai South Central parliamentary Sabha seat will be declared on the same day.

In Mumbai South Central, the Shiv Sena fielded its sitting Member of Parliament (MP) Rahul Shewale. The Congress declared Eknath Gaikwad as its candidate from the parliamentary seat. Shewale defeated Gaikwad in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. The process of filing nomination for Lok Sabha election began from April 2. The last day for nominations was April 9. The scrutiny was done on April 10 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 12. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

The Shiv Sena is contesting 23 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra. The remaining 25 seats will be fought by its ally the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The NCP and Congress are likely to contest 23 seats each in an alliance. Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for phase four:

Issue of Notification April 2
Last date for filing nomination April 9
Scrutiny of nomination April 10
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 12
Date Of Poll April 29
Date of Result May 23

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP, Shiv Sena and Swabhiman Paksha contested together and bagged 23, 18 and one seat respectively in Maharashtra. The Congress has won only two seats and NCP just four. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases - on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.