Murshidabad Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Murshidabad Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Mumbai, March 25: Murshidabad is the parliamentary constituency in West Bengal which will go to polls in the Third Phase of general elections on April 23. The counting of votes for Murshidabad Lok Sabha election result will take place on May 23. The primary electoral contest for the seat is between the All India Trinamool Congress, Left Front, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. Though several other regional parties would also contest for the seat.

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from CPI(M) – Badaruddoza Khan. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Congress candidate – Abdul Mannan Hossain. CPI(M) has retained its candidate for this elections. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, AITC has fielded Janab Abu Taher, while Congress has announced Abu Hena against Chowdhury as their candidate. BJP has announced Humayun Kabir as its candidate for Murshidabad seat. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 11,92,899 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,70,899 are females while 6,22,002 are males. The average literacy rate is 68 per cent, and the main occupation of people is agriculture and tourism. The female to male ratio is 957.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Third Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Baharampur Lok Sabha elections will begin on March 28, which would continue till April 4. Scrutiny will be done on April 5, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations will be April 8. The polling will take place on April 23.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.