Congress won on eight seats, the BJP-SAD alliance bagged four constituencies and remaining one seat was bagged by the Aam Aadmi Party.Check full result here:

Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Harsimrat Kaur Badal has won Bhatinda Lok Sabha elections defeating Congress candidate Amarinder Singh Raja with a margin of over 21,000 votes.

Congress candidate and wife of Punjab Cm Captain Amarinder Singh, Preneet Kaur has won the Lok Sabha elections from Patiala defeating Surjit Singh Rakhra of the SAD with a margin of over 1, 62,000 votes.

Congress candidate Ravneet Singh Bittu has won from the Ludhiana Lok Sabha Constituency defeating Lok Insaaf Party chief Simarkit Singh Bains with a margin of over 76,000 votes.

Congress candidate Ravneet Singh Bittu has won from the Ludhiana Lok Sabha Constituency defeating Lok Insaaf Party chief Simarkit Singh Bains with a margin of over 76,000 votes.

Congress candidate Santokh Singh Chaudhary has won from Jalandhar Lok Sabha constituency defeating Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Charanjit Singh Atwal with a margin of over 19,000 votes

Shiromani Akali Dal candidate and former Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab Sukhbir Singh Badal has won from Firozpur Lok Sabha constituency with a margin of over 1,98,000 seats

Congress candidate Manish Tewari has won from Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha with a margin of over 46,000 votes. He defeated Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Prem Singh Chandumajra.

BJP candidate Sunny Deol defeated Congress' Sunil Jakhar from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha elections

Congress candidate Ravneet Singh Bittu is leading from Ludhiana Lok Sabha constituency with a thumping margin of close to over one lakh votes.

Load More

Chandigarh, May 23:  The counting of votes in Punjab for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 will start from 8 am on May 23. The Election Commission is expected to announce the result on the same day. The voting in Punjab was held in a single phase. All the 13 constituencies of the state - Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Patiala, Bhatinda, Firozpur, Faridkot, Khadoor Sahib, Fatehgarh Sahib, Anandpur Sahib, Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur went for polls in the seventh phase of the parliamentary elections. A total of 58.81 percent voter turnout was recorded in Punjab.

Meanwhile, all the exit polls predicted a Congress victory in the state. The Exit Polls on Sunday gave an average of eight seats to the Congress in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in Punjab. Meanwhile, the BJP-SAD alliance in the state is expected to get only 3-5 seats, whereas, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is likely to get a maximum of two seats.

Election Result by Election Commission:

A total of 223 candidates were in the fray in the last round of the Lok Sabha elections in the state. There were a total of 2,08,92,674 voters in Punjab. Out which 1,10,59,828 were males and 98,32,286 were females and 560 are third gender voters. Over 23,000 polling booths were set up across the state. Catch complete coverage of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 here.

The main fight in Punjab was between the Congress and the BJP-SAD alliance. However, some constituencies of the state including Ludhiana, Sangrur, Bhatinda and Faridkot are likely to witness a high-pitched multi-cornered electoral battle. The political parties in the fray were the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and its alliance partner Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Congress, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Punjab Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Phase 7 Voting Ends; 58.81% Voter Turnout Recorded.

The key candidates who contested the Lok Sabha elections in Punjab include former deputy chief minister of the state Sukhbir Singh Badal from Firozpur, his wife and union minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal from Bhatinda, union minister Hardeep Singh Puri from Amritsar, Bollywood actor Sunny Deol and Senior Congress leader Sunil Jakhar from Gurdaspur and Bhagwant Mann from Sangrur and Preneet Kaur from Patiala. Punjab Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP-SAD alliance had won six seats. The AAP who contested for the time, had won four seats, while the managed to bag only three seats. However, in the bye-elections were held in 2017 on two seats – Gurdaspur and Amritsar, Congress had won both the seats. In 2014, the grand old party had won only in Amritsar, while Gurdaspur seat was won by the BJP.