Raiganj Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Raiganj Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Mumbai, March 23: Raiganj is the parliamentary constituency in West Bengal which will go to polls in the Second Phase of general elections on April 18. The counting of votes for Raiganj Lok Sabha election result will take place on May 23. The primary electoral contest for the seat is between the All India Trinamool Congress, Left Front, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. Though several other regional parties would also contest for the seat.

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from Communist Party of India (Marxist) – Mohammad Salim. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Congress candidate – Deepa Dasmunshi. This time too, CPI(M) has fielded Md. Salim from this seat. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, AITC has fielded Kanaia Lal Agarwal while BJP has fielded Deboshree Choudhary. In the meantime, Congress has fielded Deepa Dasmunshi from Raiganj seat. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 11,08,382 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,25,090 are females while 5,83,292 are males. The average literacy rate is 75 per cent, and the main occupation of people is agriculture and trade of essential commodities. The female to male ratio is 936.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Second Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 18
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 29
Date Of Poll April 18
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Raiganj Lok Sabha election has already begun on March 18, which would continue till March 26. Scrutiny will be done on March 27, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations will be March 29. The polling will take place on April 18.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 2 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.