Sarguja Lok Sabha Constituency in Chhattisgarh Results 2019: BJP Candidate Renuka Singh Elected as MP
Sarguja Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Raipur, March 23: Renuka Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected as Member of Parliament from Sarguja Lok Sabha seat in Chhattisgarh. Sarguja Lok Sabha seat went to polls on April 23 in the third phase of general elections. The seat is currently held by BJP MP Kamalbhan Singh Marabi. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: How Staggered Polling Could Help BJP.

The process of filing nomination began from March 28. The last day for nominations was April 4. Scrutiny was done on April 5 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 8. In this election, the BJP decided to not field any sitting MP in Chhattisgargh. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP registered a thumping victory winning 10 out of 11 seats, whereas the Congress was reduced to one seat. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Schedule for polling in phase 3:

Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23

Watch Lok Sabha election schedule for phase three:

However, Congress knocked off the ruling BJP in the 2018 state elections and won 68 out of 90 seats. Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and will be held over seven phases followed by counting of votes on May 23.