Shillong Lok Sabha Constituency in Meghalaya Results 2019: INC Candidate Vincent H Pala Elected MP
Shillong Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Shillong is one of the constituencies out of the two Lok Sabha constituencies in the northeastern state of Meghalaya. Here the 17th Lok Sabha polls will be held under Phase 1 on April 11, 2019. The constituency number of this seat is PC No.1. This constituency is reserved for scheduled tribe. The results of the Shillong Constituency will be declared today. The counting of votes began on the Parliamentary seat in Shillong at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Voting took place for the Shillong seat in the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 65.46 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Shillong Lok Sabha seat in Meghalaya. INC Candidate Vincent H Pala Elected MP.   Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated Shri Sanbor Shullai, while the Indian National Congress has chosen Vincent H Pala to compete for General Election, 2019. The Election Commission has declared March 25, 2019, as the last date of filing on nominations from the seats. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 28, 2019. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase I: List of States And Constituencies Voting On April 11.

Watch details of Lok Sabha Phase I Polls

In the last General Election held in the year 2014, Indian National Congress(INC) candidate Vincent H Pala emerged victorious. He secured total of 2,09,340 votes and won the seat by defeating Prechard B.M.Basaiawmoit from an independent party. The INC candidate won by a margin of 40, 379 votes. The other major candidate who participated in the previous election for this constituency were Paul Lyngdoh from United Democratic Party(UDP) and Shibun Lyngdoh from Bhartiya Janata Party(BJP).

The 17th Lok Sabha Election 2019 will held in India from April 11, 2019 to May 19, 2019. The polling will be divided into total 7 phases. The result for all the phase will be declared on May 23, 2019.