Sonipat Vidhan Sabha Constituency in Haryana: Sitting MLA, Candidates For Assembly Elections 2019, Results And Winners
Sonipat Assembly Elections (Photo Credits: File Image)

Chandigarh, October 10: The Sonipat Vidhan Sabha constituency falls in the Sonipat district of Haryana. It comes under the National Capital Region and is around 20 kilometres from Delhi. It is the most populated Assembly constituency in Sonipat district. Voting in Sonipat for the Haryana Assembly Elections 2019 will take place on October 21. The counting of votes will take place on October 24. Haryana Assembly Elections 2019: Full List of Constituencies With Current MLA Names and How BJP, Congress, INLD Performed in 2014.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Kavita Jain from the Sonipat Assembly Constituency, while Surendra Pawar is contesting on Congress ticket. Indian National Lok Dal has given the ticket to Balkishan Sharma. The Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Vimal Kishor. Jain had won the assembly elections in 2009 and 2014 on the BJP ticket. In 2014 elections, she had defeated Congress candidate Dev Raj Dewan.

The last date of filing nomination papers was October 4. Nomination papers were scrutinised on October 5. The last date of withdrawal of candidature was October 7. The voting will take place on October 21. The votes will be counted on October 24, and the results will be announced on the same day. Assembly Elections 2019 Dates: Maharashtra & Haryana Go to Polls in Single-Phase on October 21, Results on October 24.

The main competition in Haryana is between the ruling BJP and the Congress. Haryana Legislative Assembly comprises of 90 seats out of which 17 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) and none for Scheduled Tribes (ST). According to Election Commission of India, the state has a poll strength of 1.82 crore registered voters of which 1.07 lakh are service voters. In 2014 elections, the BJP secured 47 seats while Indian National Congress won just 15 seats.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
AMITJannayak Janta PartyNA
ASHABharatiya Samtawadi Party (A)NA
OM PARKASH MEHTABharatiya Congress (M)NA