Tamluk Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Tamluk Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Mumbai, March 27: Tamluk is the parliamentary constituency in West Bengal which is going for polls in the Sixth Phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on May 12. The counting of votes for Tamluk Lok Sabha election result will take place on May 23, along with 542 seats. The primary electoral contest for the seat is between the All India Trinamool Congress, Left Front, Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress. Though several other regional parties would also contest for the seat.

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Suvendu Adhikari. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the CPI(M) candidate – Sekh Ibrahim Ali. AITC has fielded Dibyendu Adhikari this time from the constituency. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, CPI(M) has fielded Sekh Ibrahim Ali again, while Congress has announced their candidate as Dr Lakshman Chandra Seth. BJP has fielded Siddharth Naskar as their candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,71,230 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 6,11,239 are females while 6,59,937 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 77 per cent, and the principal occupation is agriculture of rice and betel leaves (Pan). The female to male ratio is 936.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Sixth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April  23
Scrutiny of nomination April  24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May  12
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Tamluk Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 16, which would continue till April 23. Scrutiny will be done on April 24, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations will be April 26. The polling will take place on May 12.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 6 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections will take place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.