The BJP has won 63 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh, whereas, its ally Apna Dal has bagged 1 parliamentary seat. The SP-BSP combine has been restricted to 15, whereas, the Congress has further dwindled to 1, with UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi being the only lawmaker elected.

RLD chief Ajit Singh has lost from the Muzaffarnagar Lok Sabha seat. The constituency has been retained by sitting BJP MP Sanjeev Balyan.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi is trailing in his bastion, Amethi Lok Sabha constituency, by a margin of nearly 28,000 votes.

O.S.N.CandidatePartyEVM VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of Votes
1Rahul GandhiIndian National Congress237749023774944.16
2Smriti IraniBharatiya Janata Party265792026579249.37


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in 59 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, whereas, its ally Apna Dal is ahead in one seat, Mirzapur. Congress president Rahul Gandhi continues to trail from Amethi by over 14,000 votes.

Apna Dal011
Apna Dal (Soneylal)011
Bahujan Samaj Party01212
Bharatiya Janata Party05959
Indian National Congress011
Samajwadi Party066

BJP candidate from Unnao, Sakshi Maharaj, is leading by 2 lakh votes. The overall BJP tally in Uttar Pradesh is hovering around 55 parliamentary seats.

Sakshi Maharaj is ahead in Unnao constituency by a margin of nearly 1 lakh vote. The overall BJP leads' tally has reached 55. The Mahagathbandhan is leading in 23 constituencies and the Congress on 2.

The overall trends at 10 am shows the BJP+ leading at 321 seats. The numbers may swell beyond the 334-mark, which the NDA had won in 2014.

The BJP has taken its lead to 60 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The SP, BSP and Congress are headed for a rout. While Mahagathbandhan is predicted to win 17 seats, the Congress is likely to be restricted to the two family bastions - Amethi and Rae Bareli.

Senior BJP leader and Union Minister Manoj Sinha is trailing from Ghazipur Lok Sabha seat as per the initial trends. BSP candidate Afzal  Ansari is leading from the constituency. The BJP has so far taken its lead to 50 seats in Uttar Pradesh.

UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi is trailing by nearly 600 votes from her bastion Rae Bareli. The BJP, meanwhile, has strengthened its lead on 45 seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Load More

Lucknow, May 23: The results of Lok Sabha elections 2019 in Uttar Pradesh, along with the parliamentary seats in other states of India, will be declared today by the Election Commission. The counting of votes across the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies of UP begun at 8:00am and is currently underway. Stay tuned here for the live news and updates on Uttar Pradesh general election results and names of leading and winning candidates. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates: Will it be NDA, UPA or Third Front?

The electoral battle in UP, as per pollsters, was largely centred between the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-Rashtriya Lok Dal (SP-BSP-RLD) alliance and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The contest turned three cornered in some constituencies due to a rejuvenated Congress being led by party's newly appointed eastern UP general secretary in-charge, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra.

Check Live UP General Election Results 2019:

Exit polls have given BJP the edge in UP, predicting the saffron party and its ally Apna Dal to win nearly two-third of the seats in the state. An aggregate of seven major post-poll surveys claimed that the BJP would win 51-52 constituencies, whereas, the Mahagathbandhan would be restricted to 26-27. Congress, the polls said, will manage to retain only Amethi and Rae Bareli.

The seven-round electoral battle began in Uttar Pradesh on April 11, with the Jat-dominated seats in western UP - Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddha Nagar going to polls in phase 1.

The key candidates in the above round were Union Minister Sanjeev Balyan, RLD chief Ajit Singh and former Mumbai police commissioner Satyapal Singh.

In phase 2, on April 18, the constituencies of Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Mathura, Agra and Fatehpur Sikri were contested. This round featured the candidature of actor-politician Hema Malini.

On April 29, in the third round, the seats of Moradabad, Rampur, Sambhal, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Badaun, Aonla, Bareilly, Pilibhit went into the polling fray.

Samajwadi Party rebel Shivpal Yadav was locked up against his nephew and SP MP Akshay Yadav from Firozpur in this phase. From Pilibhit, BJP's Varun Gandhi was in fray.

In phase 4, the following constituencies were contested: Shahjahanpur, Kheri, Hardoi, Misrikh, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Hamirpur.

All eyes were set on the poll battle in Unnao, where BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj is in fray, along with Kannauj, where the SP-BSP combine had fielded Dimple Yadav, wife of former CM Akhilesh Yadav.

In phase 5, battle entered into the eastern sphere of UP, with the following seats being contested on May 6: Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj and Gonda.

The crux of the elections in this round was centred in Amethi, where Congress president Rahul Gandhi was challenged by senior BJP leader Smriti Irani -- who has been campaigning in the constituency on regular intervals over the last 5 years.

In phase 6, the contest entered further into east UP, with the seats of Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Allahabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Shrawasti, Domariyaganj, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Lalganj, Azamgarh, Jaunpur, Machhlishahr, Bhadohi.

Union Minister Maneka Gandhi, from Pilibhit, and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, were two candidates to watch out in this round of the polls on May 12.

In the last phase held on Sunday, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur and Robertsganj.

Among those candidates whose fate were decided in round 7, include actor-politician Ravi Kishan from Gorakhpur, Union Minister Manoj Sinha from Ghazipur and Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi.

In 2014, the BJP swept Uttar Pradesh, winning 71 of the 80 parliamentary constituencies. NDA ally Apna Dal bagged two seats, whereas, five and two Lok Sabha segments were retained by SP and Congress, respectively.