Yellapur Bypoll 2019 Result For Karnataka Assembly: Arabail Hebbar Shivaram of BJP Wins MLA Seat
Yellapur Assembly Bypolls (Photo Credits: File Photo)

Bengaluru, December 9: Arabail Hebbar Shivaram of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Yellapur bypoll seat in Karnataka. Shivaram won the seat by defeating his Congress rival Bhimanna Naik by a margin of 31,408 votes. The counting of votes for the Yellapur  assembly constituency in Karnataka began at 8 am on Monday. The Yellapur Vidhan Sabha constituency is located in the Uttara Kannada district and Coastal Karnataka. It is a part of the Uttara Kannada Lok Sabha constituency. In the Yellapur constituency, there are a total of 1,68,193 voters in the constituency. This time, the Congress had fielded Bhimanna Naik while the Janata Dal (Secular) had given its ticket to Chaitra Gowda A. The BJP gave its ticket to Hebbar Shivaram for the bypolls for the Yellapur seat.

Voting for 15 assembly constituencies of Karnataka was held on December 5.  An estimated 62.18 per cent average voting was registered in the crucial by-elections on Thursday. The major parties contesting in these polls- BJP, Congress and JD(S). At present, Arabail Hebbar Shivaram of the Congress party is the sitting MLA. Karnataka Bypolls 2019: Heavy Voter Turnout Recorded in Rural Areas, Poor in Bengaluru.

Apart from BJP and Congress which has fielded candidates in each of 15 seats, there are over 100 independents also contesting in these by-polls. JD(S) has contesting on 12 seats. In the 2013 Karnataka Assembly Elections, Congress had won the Yellapur seat with a margin of 24,492 votes. In 2013 the seat witnessed a voter turnout of 79.61% in the Yellapur constituency. In the Assembly Elections held in 2008, BJP had won with a margin of 2,485 votes in the Yellapur constituency. In 2018 elections, Yellapur witnessed a voter turnout of 79.8%.