Rohit Sharma Could Overhaul Virat Kohli’s This Record During India vs New Zealand T20I Series 2019
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli (Photo Credits: Getty)

The Indian team ended the ODI series against New Zealand on a winning note yesterday at the Wellington. Rohit Sharma will continue to lead the team for the T20I series as well in the absence of Virat Kohli who had been rested in the last two ODIs. Thus, the opening batsman could overhaul Virat Kohli’s captaincy record in the three-game T20I series. The Mumbai right-hander could overtake Kohli in the list of most wins as captains in the shortest format of the game. MS Dhoni Rises Three Spots on ICC ODI 2019 Rankings After New Zealand & Australia Series.

Out of the 12 occasions that Sharma handled the reins of the Indian team, he has 11 matches. One loss came from Nidhas Trophy in 2018. Out of the 20 matches that Kohli that India, the team has won 12 games and lost seven. One of them had no result due to rains in Australia. If India wins the T20I against New Zealand, Rohit Sharma will overtake Kohli and will sit on the number two spot. MS Dhoni sits on number one with 41 matches from 72 runs. Yuzvendra Chahal Runs After MS Dhoni for an Interview on Chahal TV; Former Skipper Flees to the Dressing Room (Watch Video).

However, Rohit has the best winning percentage in T20Is which is 91.66%. Whereas, Kohli's winning percentage is 63.15. Virender Sehwag and Suresh Raina enjoy a 100% winning record. Sehwag led India in their first-ever T20I game while Raina led India in two T20I games against Zimbabwe and in one T20I against West Indies. The T20I series between India and New Zealand will begin on February 6 in Wellington. The second T20I will be held on February 8 and the third game will start on February 10.