Indian Cyclists Create History After Bagging First-Ever Gold Medal at World Junior Championships, Defeat Australia in Final of Men’s Team Sprint Event
Indian cyclists (Photo Credits: Twitter/ SAIMedia)

India cyclists Esow, Ronaldo, James Singh and Rojit Singh created history after bagging gold in ongoing World Junior Championships 2019. The India men's team won gold in men’s team sprint event at World Junior Track and Cycling Championship in Frankfurt. This is the first-ever gold medal for India in cycling at World Junior Champions.

The Indian team clocked a time of 44.625 seconds beating the Australia team in the final which registered 44.681 seconds. The Indian team had qualified for quarter-finals earlier with the timing of 45.095 seconds in the qualifying round 1. India topped the quarter-final with the fastest timings along with Australia, which were second fastest.

In the final, Indian team trailed by .244 seconds after the first lap. In the second lap, they reduced the gap to .030 seconds and in the final lap, the Indian team went even faster to clinch the gold. Great Britain won the bronze medal after defeating Germany. India is currently ranked number two in cycling, after Malaysia.

Indian cyclist Esow will be hopeful of winning more medals in Junior World Championships. The women's team of Triyasha and Nikita finished 5th in the women's team sprint event. Six people are representing the Indian contingent at World Junior Championships 2019, which include four boys and two girls. The individual events in the tournament will start from Friday and Esow and NIkita will be seen in action.