Karnataka Legislative Council Election Results 2018 Live News Updates: Counting of Votes Underway For 3 Graduates' & Teachers' Constituencies Each
Visuals of counting from Gulbarga University centre in Kalaburagi for North East Graduate constituency | (Photo Credits: ANI)

Bengaluru, June 12: The results of six seats recently contested in the biennial elections to the Karnataka legislative council will be declared today. The counting of votes is currently underway. Stay tuned here for the live news and updates emerging from the counting centres.

A total of three graduates' and three teachers' constituency went to polls on June 8. The voting was held in the South Teachers’, South West Teachers’, South West Graduates’ and North East Graduate constituencies.

The counting of votes is underway at the State Election Commission (SEC) authorised centres -  Maharani’s Women’s Commerce and Management College on Valmiki Road in Mysuru and Gulbarga University Centre in Kalaburagi.

Counting of votes underway for elections to six legislative council seats, three each from graduates and teachers constituencies. Visuals of counting from Gulbarga University Centre in Kalaburagi for North East Graduate constituency.

In the voting held on June 8 in South Teachers’ constituency, 80.8 percent polling was recorded with 16,707 voters of the total 20,677 casting their mandate.

In South West Teachers' constituency, 16,477 voters of the total 20,481 exercised their right to franchise. In South West Graduates' constituency, 70.01 per cent voting was recorded with 47,124 voters out of 67,306 voters making their ballot choice.

The SEC has deployed 435 personnel including 145 counting supervisors and assistants, 60 supporting counting staff and 35 special officers for the counting.