BJP Wins Shirahatti, Ron, Nargund, & Congress Bagged Victory From Gadag; Karnataka Election Results 2018
Karnataka Assembly Elections| Gadag District Election Results 2018 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Gadag, May 15: Gadag, along with the other regions of Karnataka,  went to assembly polls on May 12, 2018. The results were declared today by the Election Commission. Counting of votes started 8 am today. Gadag district includes four assembly seats - Gadag, Nargund, Ron, and Shirahatti. 

BJP won in three out of the four seats from the Gadag district. BJP won Shirahatti, Ron, and Nargund, whereas, Congress bagged the Gadag seat in Karnataka Asembly Election 2018. Interestingly, all the four constituencies were won by Congress in 2013 polls.

On May 12, the voting started on a moderate note, and later gained momentum. An average of 74.8 percent voters in the four Assembly constituencies in Gadag district turned up to vote at polling stations on Saturday, helping register an increase in polling percentage from 2013. Naragund constituency recorded the highest polling percentage — 76.66% — in the district, and the second-highest polling percentage was recorded in Ron constituency. Gadag is a part of the Belagavi Division.

Catch the live results from Gadag district

Gadag Constituency Results 2018

Nargund Constituency Results 2018

Ron Constituency Results 2018

Shirahatti Constituency Results 2018

Gadag had been a strong Congress bastion since 1983 until the BJP came to power here in 2008, only for one term. Both, the ruling Congress and the Opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) hope to crack the Karnataka state polls to win a majority in the state. BJP bagged the maximum votes, 105, however, it is still short of majority. Congress has got 77 votes, and JD(S) has won 38 votes.