List of Bank Holidays on Diwali 2018: State-Wise Dates When Banks, Government Offices & Schools Will be Shut
Image used for representational purpose (Photo Credit: PTI)

New Delhi, November 6: Government offices, educational institutes and banks will be shut owing to a three-day holiday starting with Diwali 2018 festival on November 7. Dates for bank holidays on Diwali differ from state to state, and not all states declared offs on each festival coming this week. Similarly, bank holidays on Diwali will vary from state to state as well.

On November 7, a holiday has been declared for Diwali in most of the state. States such as Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Telangana and Tamil Nadu declared Diwali off on November 6. The Tamil Nadu government announced an additional off on November 5 to enable its employees and teachers working in other states to celebrate Deepavali festival with their loved ones the next day. Bank Holidays In October And November 2018: Banks to Remain Shut On These 11 Days in Festive Season; ATMs May Run Out of Cash.

On November 8, a holiday has been declared for Govardhan Puja in Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Rajasthan Sikkim and Uttarakhand. For Bhai Dooj, Uttar Pradesh and Meghalaya announced a holiday on November 9. Apart from festival-related offs in respective states, banks will remain closed on November 10 (second Saturday of the month) and 11 (Sunday) as well.

State-wise List of Bank Holidays on Diwali:

Dates States having Holiday For
Nov 6 Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Telangana & Tamil Nadu Diwali
Nov 7 National Holiday for Diwali except for Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Tami Nadu, Telangana Diwali
Nov 8 Gujarat, Rajasthan Sikkim, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh Govardhan Puja
Nov 9 Meghalaya and Uttar Pradesh Bhai Dooj

In all, the November month has 14 holidays in different parts of the country. People may face cash shortage as ATMs are likely to go dry because of long breaks. They are advised to withdraw cash in advance.