Padma Awards 2019: Govt of India Receives Record 49,992 Nominations
Padma Awards | Govt of India | (Photo Credits: Govt of India)

A record number of 49,992 nominations for the Padma Awards-2019 have been received by the government of India. The number of nominations this year is 32 times higher over the nominations received in 2010. 1,313 nominations were received in the year 2010, 18,768 were received in the year 2016 and 35,595 nominations in 2017. Padma Awards 2018: Full List With Names of Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri Awardees.

A PIB release said that the Government has transformed the Padma Awards into a ‘People’s Awards’. One of the reason why there is a rise in the number of nominations for the awards is that people are encouraged to nominate unsung heroes who deserve these top Civilian awards (Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri).

The nomination process for Padma Awards was made online in the year 2016; and a simple, accessible and secure online platform was put in place to encourage citizens to participate in large numbers.

The technological intervention that has made the nomination process accessible to the people at large and the emphasis of the Government to confer Padma Awards upon unsung heroes, who are doing selfless service to the nation, have resulted in a transformation.

The online nomination process for the Padma Awards to be announced on the occasion of Republic Day, 2019 commenced on 1st May 2018 and the last date for submission of nominations was September 15, 2018.

Nominations were invited from Central Ministries/Departments, States/UT Governments, Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan awardees, Institutes of Excellence as also from several other sources to enable broad based consideration. All citizens can make nominations/recommendation including self-nomination.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) conferred the prestigious Padma awards on a total of 85 personalities, including legendary musician Ilayaraja, former Indian cricket team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and senior Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh ideologue P Parameswaran, among others this year. Awards for all the three categories of service - Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri - was awarded by the President.