Andhra Pradesh: TDP Slams EC, Says Re-Polling at 5 Booths in Chandragiri Assembly Seat is 'Unconstitutional’
N Chandrababu Naidu (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, May 16: A day after the Election Commission (EC) announced repolling at five polling stations of the Chandragiri Assembly constituency on the final phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 19, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) accused the polling body of taking a decision that was “unethical and unconstitutional.” In a statement, Chandrababu Naidu-led party stated that EC should take steps to restore the confidence on the poll body and create a level playing field between Bharatiya Janata Party-allies and other parties.

Accusing the EC of unfairness, TDP Rajya Sabha MP Ramesh and spokesperson K Rama Mohan Rao have affirmed that the election body has taken contradictory stands on two similar issues in two different states, referring to West Bengal. In West Bengal, Atri Bhattacharya, State Home Secretary, on May 15 was relieved for having interfered in the polling process by directing the state's CEO, they said. EC Declares Repolling in Chandragiri Assembly and Chittoor Lok Sabha Seats in Andhra Pradesh on May 19.

The re-polling comes after the YSR Congress Chandragiri MLA Bhaskar Reddy filed a complaint with the Election Commission early this month alleging that TDP resorted to malpractice on the polling day. He alleged that TDP workers denied voters of the certain community from casting their votes.

The EC after considering the reports from concerned authorities declared repolling in the five booths. Repolling in these five polling stations under the Chandragiri assembly constituency has been scheduled for May 19.