East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency in Delhi: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Image)

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: The East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency in the National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi has been one of the most politically active seats. Voting on the East Delhi seat will take place in Phase VI of General Elections 2019 on May 12. The East Delhi seat has seen some of the biggest names of Delhi politics fight elections. These include former Delhi CM Sheila Dikshit and her son Sandeep Dikshit. The seat was formed in 1966 and witnessed its first election in 1967. It covers areas like Laxmi Nagar, Jangpura, Shahdara, Okhla and others. Delhi Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For Delhi General Elections.

While nominations are yet to be filed for the East Delhi Parliamentary Constituency (PC-3), the Aam Aadmi Party has fielded its candidate on the seat. AAP PAC member Atishi will be contesting the Lok Sabha poll from this seat. The last date of filing nominations is April 23. The last date for withdrawal of nomination is April 26. The date of poll is May 12. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

Watch: Details of Lok Sabha Polls Phase 6

Maheish Girri of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the sitting MP on this seat. Girri won the Lok Sabha Elections 2014 with 572202 votes, defeating Rajmohan Gandhi of the AAP.

The Lok Sabha Elections will take place across India from April 11 to May 23. Voting for the 543 Parliamentary seats will take place in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.