Uttar Pradesh Exit Poll Results For Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP to Win 51-52 Constituencies, SP-BSP 26-27, Congress 2, Say Poll Pundits
Image used for illustration purpose

Exit poll results of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 in all 80 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh have been declared. An aggregate of post poll surveys released by major research agencies, in tie-up with news channels, is showing the BJP taking lead in UP, with victory in 51-52 constituencies. The SP-BSP-RLD combine are likely to be restricted to 26-27 seats, whereas, the Congress would be restricted to 2 parliamentary segments. Live News Updates: Exit Poll Results For Lok Sabha Elections 2019

According to the ABP News-CSDS survey, the SP-BSP mahagathbandhan is set to win 56 out of the 80 constituencies in the state, whereas, the BJP would be reduced to 22 seats. The Congress, meanwhile, is predicted to be restricted to 2 parliamentary segments.

According to Republic-Jan Ki Baat survey, the Mahagathbandhan would be restricted to 26 seats in Uttar Pradesh and the Congress at 2, whereas, the BJP and Apna Dal alliance is predicted to win in 52 constituencies.

According to Republic-CVoter survey, the Mahagathbandhan would win around 40 seats, the BJP 38 and Congress would be restricted to 2 constituencies.

Times Now-VMR has predicted 58 seats for the BJP, 20 for the Mahagathbandhan and 2 for the Congress.

According to Sudarshan News, the BJP would win 56 seats, the Mahagathbandhan 20, Congress and Other 1 each.

Among the most shocker of the exit polls was released by India Today-My Axis, predicting 60-68 seats for the BJP, whereas, the Mahagathbandhan 10-16. The Congress is expected to be restricted to 1-2 constituencies.

News 24-Today's Chanakya followed suit, predicting 65 seats for the BJP in UP, 13 for the Mahagathbandhan and 2 for the Congress.

Exit Polls Results for UP Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Agency BJP SP+BSP Others
India Today-Axis 60-68 10-16 1-2
ABP-Nielsen 22 56 2
CNN News 18- IPSOS 60-62 17-19 1-2
Times Now-VMR 58 20 2
Republic-Jan Ki Baat 52 26 2
Republic-CVoter 38 40 2
Today's Chanakya 65 13 2

Polls in the state were held throughout the seven phases of General Elections 2019. With the largest number of parliamentary seats, Uttar Pradesh holds key to the formation of next government at the Centre.

The political face-off was largely centred around the ruling BJP and the Mayawati-Akhilesh-led grand alliance. Congress, rejuvenated with the entry of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra as eastern UP in-charge, turned the contest three-cornered in several constituencies.

Among key candidates whose fate would be decided by the UP electorate include Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh from Lucknow, Congress president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi from Rae Bareli, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav from Azamgarh, RLD supremo Ajit Singh from Muzaffarnagar and actor-politician Hema Malini from Mathura.

Exit Poll Results For Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP-led NDA Set to Win

In 2014, the BJP had staged a clean sweep in UP, winning 71 out of the state's 80 constituencies. 2 seats were won by its ally Apna Dal, whereas, the Samajwadi Party and the Congress were restricted to 5 and 2 seats, respectively. The BSP had failed to open its account.

Stakes had flipped over ahead of the general elections, as Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party agreed to form a coalition. After over two decades of fierce rivalry, two parties said it is essential to join hands to "prevent the rise of communal and casteist forces".

Their alliance was termed as "opportunistic" and "mahamilavat (grand adulteration)" by PM Modi, who had appealed the state's electorate to oversee the "castiest leaders" and "vote for development".

In the 2017 assembly elections, the SP, BSP and RLD had contested separately. Their cumulative vote share was 46.9 per cent, but the division of votes allowed the BJP to wrest the state with 39.7 percent votes.

The exit poll outcome, though weighing in favour of the Mahagathbandhan, are only reflecting the post-election trends. The actual outcome would be revealed on May 23, when the Election Commission of India is scheduled to begin the counting of votes.