Gurugram, May 24: The sixth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections will see voters in all 10 Parliamentary constituencies in Haryana exercising their franchise on Saturday (May 25). In the Gurgaon LS seat, a total of 25,33,958 voters will decide the fate of 23 candidates who are in the fray.

Campaigning ended on Thursday at 6 p.m. after which the Gurugram district administration imposed Section 144 which restricts the gathering of five or more persons. Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Phase 6: Stage Set for Voting Across Seven States and UTs, Two Former CMs Manohar Lal Khattar and Mehbooba Mufti Among Prominent Candidates; Check Key Constituencies Here.

Candidates from five major parties including five-time sitting MP Rao Inderjit Singh of the BJP, Raj Babbar from Congress, singer-rapper Rahul Yadav -- popularly known as Fazilpuria -- of Jannayak Janta Party, Vijay Kumar from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Sohrab Khan from the Indian National Lok Dal are contesting from Gurgaon Lok Sabha seat.

In nine Assembly segments of the Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency, over 2,000 polling booths have been set up. Of the total number of voters, 13,51,239 are male while 12,2,641 are female. The number of third-gender voters in the Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency is 78. Prayagraj Lok Sabha Election 2024: Activists See LS Polls As Fight To Save Constitution, Many Voters Raise Local Issues Such As Cleanliness and Healthcare Facilities in This Uttar Pradesh Seat.

Voting time on May 25 has been fixed from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Arrangements have also been made to ensure that people above 85 years of age and people with disabilities can cast their vote from home. Rao Inderjit Singh represented the Gurgaon LS constituency three times in a row -- in 2009, 2014 and in 2019.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, he won the seat with a margin of 3,86,256 votes. Rao Inderjit Singh got 8,81,546 votes. He defeated Congress candidate Captain Ajay Singh who got 4,95,290 votes. BSP candidate Chaudhary Rais Ahmad stood third with 26,756 votes in the constituency. Meanwhile, over 10,000 security personnel, including those from the paramilitary forces, will be deployed during the polling.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on May 25, 2024 12:11 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website