Uttar Pradesh By-Elections 2019: Congress Declare Five Candidates For Bypolls; Sneh Lata to Contest From Tundla, Karishma Thakur From Govindnagar
Congress flags | Representational Image | (Photo Credits: PTI)

Lucknow, September 13: The Indian National Congress (INC) on Friday, September 13, announced its candidates for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly by-polls in five seats. The candidature of Umesh Kumar Diwaker, Snen Lata, Karishma Thakur, Sunil Mishra, Rajmangal Yadav has been approved by All Indian Congress Committee (AICC) interim president Sonia Gandhi.

In a statement, the party informed that Umesh Kumar Diwakar will contest from Ignis, Sneh Lata from Tundla, Karishma Thakur from Govindnagar, Sunil Mishra from Jalalpur and Rajmangal Yadav from Ghosi. Priyanka Gandhi Likely to be Appointed Uttar Pradesh Congress Chief Ahead of UP Assembly Elections 2022.

Check List of Candidates Here:

Assembly by-polls are due in Uttar Pradesh's several seats, most of which fell vacant after their Member of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) were elected to the Lok Sabha. 

Meanwhile, in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Bharatiya Janata Party triumphed on 62 seats, while Bahujan Samaj Party (BJP) won ten seats, Samajwadi Party won five seats and Congress just managed to one seat.