West Bengal: 107 TMC, Congress and CPM MLAs Will Join BJP, Claims Mukul Roy
BJP leader Mukul Roy (Photo Credits: IANS)

Kolkata, July 13: One of the tallest Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) West Bengal leader Mukul Roy on Saturday said that around 107 Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) of the Trinamool Congress, Communist Party of India (Marxist), and the Indian National Congress will join the saffron party. Roy, however, did not mention that when the MLAs will join the BJP. West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee Says BJP ‘Collecting Garbage’, As 2 TMC MLA, 27 Councillors Join Saffron Party in Last Two Days.

Speaking at a press conference in Kolkata, Roy said that all the MLAs are in contact with the state BJP leadership. He also added that the list has been prepared for CPM, Congress and TMC MLAs who will be joining the BJP. TMC Faces Desertion in West Bengal, MLA Wilson Champramary Joins List of Legislators Jumping to BJP.

Tweet by ANI:

This development just two months after more than 50 TMC councillors and 2 MLAs joined the saffron party in presence of BJP general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya. The defection round was started after BJP increased its footprints in West Bengal after winning 18 seats in 2019 Lok Sabha elections, reducing TMC to just 22.

Meanwhile, in a similar development from Goa, on Thursday, 10 Congress MLAs joined the BJP in presence of party working president JP Nadda. Earlier today, three of them were appointed as ministers in a major cabinet reshuffle by Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant.