BCCI Announces Cash Reward for Virat Kohli and Co After Team India’s Historic Test Series Win in Australia
Indian team poses with the trophy after winning Test series against Australia. (Photo: @BCCI/Twitter)

Following the historic Test series win in Australia, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced cash awards for team India. BCCI announced that the players will get bonuses equivalent to the actual match-fee payable: which is INR 15 Lakhs per match for Playing XI and INR 7.5 Lakhs per match for the reserve players. Apart from it, coaching staff will receive INR 25 Lakhs each while the non-coaching support staff will get bonuses equivalent to their pro-rata salary/professional fee. Rishabh Pant Attains Better Ranking Than MS Dhoni, Equals With Farokh Engineer As the Highest Ranked Indian Wicketkeeper Ever

India registered their maiden Tests series win in Australia after the visitors defeated hosts by 2-1 in the four-match series. The fourth and final Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) ended in a draw, following which India sealed the series.

India retained the Border-Gavaskar trophy after taking an unassailable 2-1 lead in the series at Melbourne in the third Test. The series after the second Test was levelled at one each with India winning the opening Test at Adelaide while Australia registering a win at Perth in the second Test. Kedar Jadhav Shares Selfies With Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni Ahead of India vs Australia ODI Series 2019: View Pictures

India before this series had played 11 Test series in Australia, but never managed to win one. While eight series went Australia’s way, three ended in a draw. The historic series win comes under Virat Kohli’s leadership and he apparently became the first Indian captain to win a Test series Down Under. In fact, Kohli’s India became the first team from the subcontinent to record a Test series win on Australian soil.