Ruturaj Gaikwad was creating ripples in the IPL 2021 and was one of the most important members of the Chennai Super Kings to win the title. Needless to say that  Gaikwad is for sure an upcoming prodigy that needs no introduction. In fact, his name had been trending on social media owing to his stellar batting performances which have proven to be a breakthrough for his career. The CSK star continued to be in top form in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22. He slammed the fourth century today against Chandigarh as they chased a hefty total of 310 runs. IPL 2022 Retention List CSK: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad Retained by Chennai Super Kings. 

The Maharashtra skipper slammed his fourth ton in this season in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22. He only became the fourth player Virat Kohli, Devdutt Padikkal and Prithvi Shaw to score four centuries in one season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. With this, he also completed 500 runs this season. Needless to say that the official account of Chennai Super Kings shared a tweet hailing their player.


Rituraj Gaikwad ended up being the highest scorer in the Indian Premier League 2021 as he slammed 635 runs in 16 games and also ended up winning the Orange Cap. He had an average of 45.35 and a strike rate of 136.26 that actually bagged him the honour. Also, he was retained by Chennai Super Kings for  Rs 6 crore.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Dec 14, 2021 04:58 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website