India vs West Indies 2019: Sourav Ganguly Unhappy With Exclusion of Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane in ODI Squad, Wants Selectors to Pick Same Players Across Formats
File Image | Sourav Ganguly | (Photo Credits: IANS)

Former India captain Sourav Ganguly has criticised senior selection committee’s approach after Indian team’s squads for the West Indies tour were named. Ganguly felt that selectors should pick a few more players for all three formats. Moreover, the former captain was surprised to see Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane not being part of the One-Day International (ODI) squad. India Squad For West Indies Tour 2019 Announced: Virat Kohli To Captain Side; MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya Rested.

Ganguly took to Twitter and expressed his thoughts. “Time has come for Indian selectors to pick same players in all formats of the game for rhythm and confidence.. too few are playing in all formats ..great teams had consistent players,” Ganguly wrote. India vs West Indies Series 2019 Schedule in IST, Free PDF Download: Get Fixtures, Time Table With Match Timings and Venue Details of India's Tour of West Indies.

The 47-year-old also added that selectors need to be constant. “It’s not about making all happy but picking the best for the country and be consistent,” he tweeted.

“There are many in the squad who can play all formats ..surprised not to see shubman gill ..Rahane in the one day squad,” the former skipper wrote in one of his tweets. Virat Kohli Retains Top Spot in Latest ICC Test Rankings; Team India World No 1.

Sourav Ganguly's advice to selectors

Surprised with Shubman and Rahane exclusion

Despite being the top-scorer in the recently concluded India A vs West Indies A ODI series, Shubman Gill was not included in the ODI squad for Windies tour. The right-handed batsman expressed his disappointment as well after being left out.

India’s tour of West Indies begins on August 03 with three-match T20I series, followed by three ODIs and two Test matches. Virat Kohli will play all the three formats while fast-bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been named for only Test series. In T20Is, selectors have added youngsters like Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, and Rahul Chahar.