India's Tour to England: Mumbai Pacer Shardul Thakur to Replace Jasprit Bumrah for ODI's
Shardul Thakur India Team Player (Photo Credits: PTI/File)

London, July 6: Ahead of the second T20 International (T20I) against England, All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Shardul Thakur as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in India's ODI team. Bumrah had suffered an injury on his left thumb during the first T2O International against Ireland and was ruled out for the three-match T20I series. After the injury, Deepak Chahar had replaced the fast bowler in the squad for three T20’s against England.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in its statement said that Bumrah underwent surgery on Wednesday, July 4, 2018, in Leeds before returning to India. The statement also read that the surgery was successful and he would commence rehabilitation under the supervision of the BCCI medical team.

Bumrah is the number one ranked ODI bowler currently. Thakur, who will be replacing Bumrah, has played three ODI’s and has taken three wickets. In the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL), Thakur was part of MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings (CSK). He took 16 wickets in the 13 matches that he played for the franchise.

Since 2016, Bumrah has been one the most successful bowlers for the Indian team in the death overs. His absence will adversely affect the team’s strategy against the hosts, England. The first ODI is scheduled to be played on July 12 in London.

Indian Squad for the three ODI’s: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, and Umesh Yadav.