The Kolkata Knight Riders showcased a brilliant performance in the Indian Premier League 2024 and were able to record their third title in the cash-rich league. The Shreyas Iyer-led side put up a brilliant show against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final of the tournament and were able to win the match by eight wickets. This is the second time, KKR won an IPL title at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The Knight Riders became the second most successful team in the tournament after Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, who have won five titles each. Gautam Gambhir Reacts After Kolkata Knight Riders Clinches IPL 2024 Title, Says ‘Even Today Lord Krishna Drives His Chariot’ (View Post)

It was a complete team effort by the Kolkata Knight Riders at the MA Chidambaram Stadium. Firstly the bowlers wrapped up Sunrisers Hyderabad for a score of 113 runs in their first innings, which was the lowest total in the history of the tournament in the final. Chasing down the target, the KKR batsman played with an attacking approach and at the end chased down the target with ease with eight wickets to spare. From Setbacks to Success, Look at Kolkata Knight Riders Captain Shreyas Iyer’s Journey to IPL 2024 Victory

Prize Money Received By Top Four IPL Teams

Position Team Prize Money
1 Kolkata Knight Riders INR 20 crore
2 Sunrisers Hyderabad  INR 13.5 crore
3 Rajasthan Royals INR 7 crore
4 Royal Challengers Bengaluru INR 6.5 crore

Prize Money Received by IPL 2024 Award Winners

  1. Orange Cap: Virat Kohli (INR 12 lakhs)
  2. Purple Cap: Harshal Patel (INR 10 lakhs)
  3. Most Valuable Player: Sunil Narine (INR 12 lakhs)
  4. Emerging Player: Nitish Kumar Reddy (INR 20 lakhs)

The Kolkata Knight Riders have made a brilliant statement under the guidance of Gautam Gambhir. The team made a 360-degree turn and the 'Men in Purple' have made a statement in the whole world. They would hope to continue the same in the coming IPL seasons.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on May 27, 2024 05:28 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website