IPL Purple Cap Holders: List of Highest Wicket Taker Bowlers From 2008-18 of Each Season in the Indian Premier League
Purple Cap Holders (Photo Credits: IPL)

The T20s are known for having hefty scores. But it is the bowlers who clinch wickets at the crucial junctures and turn the result of the matches. So far in the history of Indian Premier League, there have been many instances where the bowlers have changed the result of the game even in the low scoring matches. The Indian Premier League gives the Purple Cap to the highest wicket-taker of the tournament. The players keep changing as the tournament progresses but the highest wicket-taker keeps the honour for the rest of the year. IPL 2019 Schedule in PDF: Download VIVO Indian Premier League 12 Full Timetable With Fixtures, Matches, Team and Venue Details.

Over the years, we have had many Purple Cap holders. Sohail Tanvir was the first Purple Cap holder of the Indian Premier League. Having played 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals Tanvir snapped 22 wickets with an economy of 6.46 and bowled with the best figures of 6/14 in the first edition of the Indian Premier League 2008. In the last edition of the Indian Premier League, it was Andrew Tye who played for Kings XI Punjab bagged the Purple Cap in IPL 2018.

Check out the table of the Purple Cap holders below: 

Year Player Name Team Matches                Wickets                Economy
2008 Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 11 22 6.46
2009 RP Singh Deccan Chargers 16 23 6.98
2010 Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 16 21 7.29
2011 Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 16 28 5.95
2012 Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 16 25 7.19
2013 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 18 32 7.95
2014 Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 16 23 8.39
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 17 26 8.14
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 17 23 7.42
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar* Sunrisers Hyderabad 6 15 5.70
2018 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 14 24 8

The twelfth edition of the Indian Premier League will begin from March 23, 2019. The opening match of the Indian Premier League 2019 will witness the match between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore on March 23, 2019, in Chennai.